Posted in Random Thoughts

Blunt

I’m blunt. It saves me the effort of remembering what I said to whom, and when and why. Having said that, I am also a blunt knife–I take what people say in the face value, believing their honesty even when the stakes are rather high.

Every time, a rather sharp part of my brain shrieks in despair–Liar! Liar! I ignore it like a ditched boyfriend, and move on with the said “Liar’s” version of truth. The habit has costed me a lot of money, tears and immeasurable heartache. But I haven’t learnt yet. As I said, I am not the sharpest knife in the kitchen.

My previous job as a recruiter is an example of how easy it is to fool me. A candidate could tell me that he didn’t make it to the interview since his mother-in-law has died…twice in a week…and I will give him a benefit of doubt.

It is easy to hoodwink me and run away with any loans you can take from me and any valuables I have on my person at that point of time. It is also easy to feign friendship with me only to break my heart later–it has too many dents to count.

Still, I am none the wiser from the experience, simply because it hurts to remember that the world, in general, cannot be believed.


Discover more from Short Stories | Fish-eye Perspective

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Author:

I am an Instructional Designer, avid reader, small-town woman and working mother with a fish-eye perspective. I have just published my first book, The Forest Bed and other short stories. If you like my stories on this blog, feel free to Like, Comment, Reblog and Share. You can reach me at shailygrwl@gmail.com or through my Facebook page facebook.com/shailyagrawalwrites/

Leave a comment